Embrace.

written on November 24th 2008

I saw it in your eyes,
the glaze and tears began to shed.
I don’t understand.
I don’t understand.
I’ll say it again.

I hoped for better things,
better outcome, love and your trust.
I told you the truth,
what was needed to be said.
Yet, my mistakes have hurt you again.

I see you looking at me,
looking at me as someone you never knew.
I don’t know where to go.
What to say, I dreaded this.
I told you I loved you,
but it was never enough.

The commitment I dedicated to us,
the life I was prepared to surrender-
surrender in hopes of keeping you.
I never blamed you, never accused you.
Never wronged you, nothing, never.

You hurt  me, you lied.
I told you the truth,
the truth of the feeling of being maltreated.
I believe I loved you, even though-
even though you were gone,
I was in love.

I was in love with the idea of your sweet embrace,
the lonely embrace, the pathetic embrace.
The embrace, the thought of loneliness taunted me.
I need you nevertheless,
despite the errors, the mistakes-
I was in need of you, your embrace.

I kept you in my heart,
but I left your embrace behind-
it taunts me, haunting, painfully.
I’ll be fine.

About gabthechief

22 years old. Detroit native. Bachelor of Arts in Digital Media studies. Street Photographer. Designer. Dreamer. Young soul wandering.

Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

