Days such as these.

written on March 25th 2009

Driving by the lake in which we have spent our days of summer together
I remember holding you and hearing your lungs grasping for air.
I remember silencing you and asking you to not care,
I will breathe for you, I will hold you and be sure you can see the sun set.
I remember how you used to dance,
Twirling me and romancing me.
Those were the days where I felt so close to you.
Those were the days where I couldn’t wait to see you.
You were the one who whispered in my ear,
“Days like this are given to us from God.”
I didn’t know what that meant, but embraced the days with each soft kiss.
The bright days were over, and you had to leave,
I wasn’t ready for you to go, but I knew it was time.
I cherished the moments we spent and think of you frequently.
I sat in my room, waiting for the sun to rise,
But it seems the sun hasn’t risen lately since your departure.
Gloomy days cloud my dreams and my eyes, I can’t see.
I wait to hear from you, but you haven’t spoken to me since that day.
If God gave us precious days such as those, why does he give us lonely days too?
I didn’t understand, and continued not to for months.
Until the sun rose on a day where snow filled the sky.
Each flake had an individual charm to it,
Passing by the lake which stood frozen,
Thinking of you has brought a sudden chill down my spine.
I wasn’t sure if it was the cold, winter air or the thought of you gone for so long.
I walk towards the frozen water and look up.
A snowflake has fallen on my eye lash,
I whisper “It’s days such as these, God made me appreciate our moments,
The weather, nature, and every good in my life.”
Though our time is now lost, our memory remains here.
Time froze, time stands still.
The snowflakes shine with the sunlight. I thank you.

About gabthechief

22 years old. Detroit native. Bachelor of Arts in Digital Media studies. Street Photographer. Designer. Dreamer. Young soul wandering.

Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

